Saturday State Wrestling results & finals broadcast schedule — updated with finals results

DES MOINES — North-central Iowa saw three champions crowned at the state wrestling tournament Saturday night in Des Moines, as you heard coverage on AM-1490/96.7-FM KRIB and &  AM-1300 KGLO and 


== Osage crowned two individual champions and was edged for the Class 2A team title. After being a runner-up in his first two years, junior Nicholas Fox won the 160 pound weight class with a 7-2 decision over Carl Barkema of Hampton-Dumont-CAL. Barkema had beaten Fox in the sectional tournament, but Fox picked up wins over Barkema in the district tournament and the state finals. Green Devil Barrett Muller won the 220 pound title by pinning Gavin Bridgewater of South Tama County in 3:06. Osage finished with 108 ½ team points, one-half of a point behind champion Burlington Notre Dame. 


== Chet Buss of North Butler-Clarksville won his third Class 1A-285 pound title by pinning Rex Johnsen of Logan-Magnolia in a rematch of the 2021 championship match. 


== Kellen Smith of West Hancock fell in the Class 1A-138 pound championship as Cade Siebrecht of Lisbon won in sudden victory overtime 7-5. 


== Mason City’s Jace Rhodes dropped his 3A-132 pound championship match to Evan Frost of Dowling 6-0. Frost was a three-time state champion in Louisiana who moved with his brother to West Des Moines in the off-season. 


== Don Bosco won their fourth straight Class 1A team title with 161 ½ points, Lisbon finished second with 123. 


== Southeast Polk won the 3A team title with 160 points. Waukee Northwest was the runner-up in their first year of competition with 157, while Waverly-Shell Rock was third with 147 points.



Tonight on AM-1490/96.7-FM KRIB & as well as AM-1300 KGLO &

== KRIB — 3A girls regional final at Algona — Clear Lake vs. Estherville Lincoln Central — 6:45 PM

== State Wrestling Finals coverage plans:
— 3A-132 involving Jace Rhodes of Mason City will be on KGLO
— 1A-138 involving Kellen Smith of West Hancock will be on KGLO
— 2A-160 involving Nicholas Fox of Osage vs. Carl Barkema of Hampton-Dumont-CAL will be on KGLO
— 2A-220 involving Barrett Muller of Osage will be on both KGLO and KRIB
— 1A-285 involving Chet Buss of North Butler-Clarksville will be on both KGLO and KRIB



7th Place Match – Jack Showalter (Hampton-Dumont-CAL) 46-8 won by decision over Brayden Bohnsack (Union, La Porte City) 41-8 (Dec 9-4)


3rd Place Match – Tucker Stangel (Osage) 53-3 won by decision over Bo Koedam (Sergeant Bluff-Luton) 45-7 (Dec 5-1)
7th Place Match – Max Currier (Clear Lake) 28-8 won in sudden victory – 1 over Nick Koch (North Fayette Valley) 41-8 (SV-1 6-4)


3rd Place Match – Dominik Ridout (East Marshall/GMG) 46-3 won by decision over Anders Kittelson (Osage) 31-2 (Dec 9-3)


7th Place Match – Sir Brandon Watts (Bishop Heelan) 39-8 won by major decision over Kellen Moore (Forest City) 34-5 (MD 10-2)


7th Place Match – Max Gast (Osage) 42-10 won by decision over Joshua Zeman (West Liberty) 36-15 (Dec 6-5)


3rd Place Match – Zander Ernst (Sergeant Bluff-Luton) 54-3 won by fall over Chase Thomas (Osage) 42-8 (Fall 5:15)


5th Place Match – Josiah Bundt (MOC-Floyd Valley) 37-11 won by fall over Cole Jeffries (Osage) 39-15 (Fall 1:59)



7th Place Match – Hayden Helgeson (Lake Mills) 44-8 won by decision over Brayden Maeder (Southwest Valley) 38-9 (Dec 5-3)

5th Place Match – Tanner Arjes (North Butler-Clarksville) 45-6 won by decision over Kyler Knaack (Don Bosco) 33-6 (Dec 4-2)

7th Place Match – Charlie Veit (East Sac County) 36-8 won by major decision over Brock Mathers (Central Springs) 32-8 (MD 10-2)

3rd Place Match – Clayton McDonough (Central Springs) 55-1 won in tie breaker – 1 over Stevie Barnes (Underwood) 40-4 (TB-1 4-3)

3rd Place Match – Carson Klostermann (Alburnett) 50-4 won by decision over Bryce McDonough (Central Springs) 53-3 (Dec 9-8)

5th Place Match – Kane Zuehl (West Hancock) 51-9 won by decision over Cade Molyneux (Sigourney-Keota) 45-9 (Dec 9-6)

5th Place Match – MaKade Bloker (North Butler-Clarksville) 36-8 won by fall over Aidan Udell (Regina, Iowa City) 35-6 (Fall 1:59)

7th Place Match – Kolben Miller (North Butler-Clarksville) 47-5 won by decision over Carter Davis (Underwood) 41-14 (Dec 6-1)

3rd Place Match – Mathew Francis (West Hancock) 56-1 won by major decision over Cal Wanninger (Kuemper Catholic) 45-6 (MD 8-0)