Iowa’s US House delegation votes to impeach Homeland Security secretary

WASHINGTON — The four Republicans who represent Iowa in the U-S House voted to impeach Homeland Security Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas, but the impeachment effort fell short.

Congresswoman Ashley Hinson of Marion released a video statement hours before the vote.  “His offenses have jeopardized national security and truly put American lives at risk,” Hinson said. “…It is our constitutional duty to impeach Secretary Mayorkas.”

Congressman Randy Feenstra says Mayorkas is unwilling to close the southern border and that’s a dereliction of duty with catastrophic consequences. Congressman Zach Nunn and Congresswoman Mariannette Miller-Meeks also voted to impeach Mayorkas, but did not issue statements after the vote Tuesday night.

It’s likely Republicans in the House will bring the Mayorkas impeachment up for another vote.