Cerro Gordo, Floyd, five other counties receive state disaster proclamation


MASON CITY — Governor Reynolds has approved disaster proclamations for seven counties, including two in north-central Iowa, in response to severe weather and flooding that started last week.

The proclamation allows the use of state resources to help with the recovery in Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Allamakee, Bremer, Chickasaw, Howard and Winneshiek counties.

The governor’s office says the only request they’ve had for help thus far is for the activation of the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant and Disaster Case Management programs. Those programs provide grants of up to five-thousand dollars to residents who meet income guidelines.

The money can be used for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food and temporary housing expenses.

Applications for the grants are available through the Iowa Department of Human Services.



Clear Lake council to discuss letter of intent with Cedar Falls developer for city-owned property Minnesota man injured in motorcycle vs. tractor accident in Worth County Charles City man’s murder trial delayed until the fall More health care options will be available under Obamacare Polk County gave private, religious schools $844,000 Con artists switch from mail & phone scams to texts & social media